Revenge of the Spammer (Reprinted)

A possible spammer named “Backpack,” who may have been banned from Computer Forumz, has posted libelous comments on the Web of Trust page of Computer Forumz and my personal blog site. This is an immature and futile attempt to discredit me and exact revenge.

The comments posted June 8, 2010 on the Computer Forumz Web of Trust scorecard page read:

This site spams forums and its members regularly give websites incorrect poor WOT ratings for ~explative removed~ reasons such as forum spam? Sites have no control over people posting links on other people’s sites. All reviews of this site are by its own members and cannot be trusted.

Computer Forumz cannot spam anyone, because it has nothing to sell. This charge is baseless.

I do post a comment on the Web site’s Web of Trust scorecard that is linked to in the spam that is removed from Computer Forumz. This comment is a simple true statement of fact. It states: “Forum spammer user name (spammer’s e-mail address) has been banned from computerforumz.com.” The statement does not in any way accuse the Web site’s owner of being the spammer. It is simply a true and accurate statement of fact.

The statement is issued to give the Web site’s owner the opportunity to contact this spammer and ask them to stop spamming in their name. The spammer in question can also be found in the Stop Forum Spam data base.

The statement is also not issued anonymously. I tell them exactly who I am and where I can be found.

The idea, I’m sad to say, is not my own. I have observed several other forums using this method in an attempt to reduce or eliminate forum spammers on the Web.

The reviews of Computer Forumz found on the Web of Trust scorecard page were not given by “its own members” (with the exception of Mr_Rick). All of these comments were unbiased, unsolicited reviews. I don’t mind spammers attacking me, but I do take exception to them attacking well respected and trusted members of the Web of Trust community.

Not satisfied with this attack, Backpack launched a secondary attack by placing these comments on my WordPress blog site:

This site uses automated tools to spam forums and blogs. All reviews for this site are by its own members and cannot be trusted. The Doctor of Computer Forumz was recently banned on several hundred websites after spamming their forums and blogs with the link to this site. Stay away from this site!

WordPress does not allow its members to use “automated tools to spam forums and blogs.” Any WordPress member who would even attempt to use such tools would be instantly banned and their blog site removed. It is also impossible for any WordPress member to implement and execute such software or scripts on their blog, since WordPress does not allow members to embed such code in their Web pages.

And I’m certain that the nice folks at WordPress do not appreciate erroneous accusations being spread about their services. Rest assured that all WordPress blog sites are safe to visit.

I have never been “banned on several hundred websites…” My user name and e-mail address do not appear anywhere in the Stop Forum Spam data base. In fact I have contributed more than 600 entries of spammers to that data base and I am a member in good standing within that community.

I would request the removal of Backpack’s comments, however, these comments serve to demonstrate what kind of people they truly are.

Many thanks to Mr_Rick for his comments, but they are not necessary.

__________________

Update: When one lie doesn’t work, liars create new lies.

Our good friend and possible former spammer Backpack has changed his WOT comment on the Computer Forumz WOT scorecard site to now read:

This site uses automated tools to spam forums and blogs. All reviews for this site are by its own members and cannot be trusted (Mr Rick and The Doctor of Computer Forumz simply prove my point). The Doctor of Computer Forumz and Mr Rick were both recently banned on several hundred websites after spamming their forums and blogs with the link to this site. Stay away from this site!

Posted 06/12/2010.

Myself and Mr_Rick have never been “banned on several hundred websites…”

You can type our user names in at Stop Forum Spam. Neither of us shows up in the their data base.

What a sad, pathetic person Backpack must be. Do not hate him. He deserves only pity.

__________________

Backpack has again amended his lies on the Computer Forumz WOT scorecard to read:

This site [Computer Forumz] uses automated tools to spam forums and blogs. All reviews for this site are by its own members and cannot be trusted (Mr Rick and The Doctor of Computer Forumz simply prove my point). The Doctor of Computer Forumz and Mr Rick were both recently banned on several hundred websites after spamming their forums and blogs with the link to this site. They’re spamming because they want to get more money from ads. Stay away from this site!

See above posts.

I do not own Computer Forumz. I am not paid a dime for what I do there. I am strictly a volunteer. I have no vested interest in the amount of funds advertising generates for that site. I don’t even know how much the site takes in in advertising. That’s all handled by the forum owner. His name is maverick.

4 Responses to “Revenge of the Spammer (Reprinted)”

  1. The Doctor Says:

    It’s over. Backpack has been banned from the Web of Trust.

  2. elbise m. Says:

    Hi; Nice informations for me. Your post has valuable infos. I want to has valuable posts like yours in my website. How do you make these posts? And you have a problem about your template.You should fix your problem about your template … I recently came across your blog and have been visiting along. I think I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Very Nice blog. I will keep reading this site very often. Good day…

    • The Doctor Says:

      Thanks for the nice comments. There is nothing wrong with the template. You may need to switch to a more “standards compliant” Web browser.

      Thanks again.

  3. Newsy Says:

    Loving the information on this site, you have done great job on the posts.

Leave a Reply

